Important Academic Dates 2020-21

For all undergraduates*

First Day of Teaching January 18, 2021 (Mon)
# Online course selection for All Students January 18, 2021 (Mon) (10:00 am) – February 1, 2021 (Mon) (4:00 pm)
(a) year 1 students starting from 10:00 on January 18, 2021 (for semester 2 and summer semester);
(b) year 2 students starting from 12:00 on January 18, 2021 (for semester 2 and summer semester);
(c) year 3 students starting from 14:00 on January 18, 2021 (for semester 2 and summer semester); and
(d) year 4 (or above) students starting from 16:00 on January 18, 2021 (for semester 2 and summer semester).
Suspension Period January 19, 2021 (Tue) (12:00 noon to 4:59 pm)
All students to check their course selection status online January 19, 2021 (Tue) (5:00 pm) – February 1, 2021 (Mon) (4:00 pm)
Class Suspension Period for The Lunar New Year February 12, 2021 (Fri) – February 18, 2021 (Thu)
Reading/Field Trip ** March 8, 2021 (Mon) – March 13, 2021 (Sat)
Students indicate assessment choices (late-drop only) March 8, 2021 (Mon) (09:00 am) – April 9, 2021 (Fri) (11:59 pm)
Last Day of Teaching** April 30, 2021 (Fri)
Revision Period** May 3, 2021 (Mon) – May 8, 2021 (Sat)
Assessment Period ** May 10, 2021 (Mon) – May 29, 2021 (Sat)

For all undergraduates*

The course information system opens for current students to preview the available courses July 29, 2019 (Mon) (10:00 am)
Online master registration of freshmen
Online Course Selection for Current Students August 7, 2019 (Wed) (10:00 am) – August 13, 2019 (Tue) (4:00 pm)
(a) year 4 (or above) students: semester 1/full-year courses starting from 10:00 on August 7, 2019; semester 2 courses starting from 10:10 on August 7, 2019;
(b) year 3 students: semester 1/full-year courses starting from 12:00 on August 7, 2019; semester 2 courses starting from 12:10 on August 7, 2019; and
(c) year 2 students: semester 1/full-year courses starting from 14:00 on August 7, 2019; semester 2 courses starting from 14:10 on August 7, 2019.
Suspension Period August 8, 2019 (Thur) (9:00 am to 2:30 pm)
Current students to check their course selection status online; Students can make further changes to their course selection August 8, 2019 (Thur) (2:30 pm)-August 13, 2019 (Tue) (4:00 pm)
Students will not be allowed to make any changes to their course selection until the add/drop period After August 13, 2019 (Tue) (4:00 pm)
The course information system opens for Freshmen to preview the available courses From Aug, 2019 (after performing master registration)
Online Course Selection for Freshmen August 21, 2019 (Wed) (10:00 am)-August 27, 2019 (Tue) (4:00 pm)
semester 1/full-year courses starting from 10:00 on August 21, 2019; semester 2 courses starting from 10:10 on August 21, 2019.
Suspension Period August 22, 2019 (Thur) (9:00 am to 2:30 pm)
Freshmen to check their course selection status online; Students can make further changes to their course selection August 22, 2019 (Thur) (2:30 pm) to August 27, 2019 (Tue) (4:00 pm)
First Day of Teaching September 2, 2019 (Mon)
Add/Drop Period for All Students September 2, 2019 (Mon) (10:00 am)-September 16, 2019 (Mon) (4:00 pm)
(a) Student of year 1 starting from 10:00 on September 2, 2019 (for both semesters);
(b) year 2 students starting from 12:00 on September 2, 2019 (for both semesters);
(c) year 3 students starting from 14:00 on September 2, 2019 (for both semesters); and
(d) year 4 (or above) students starting from 16:00 on September 2, 2019 (for both semesters).
Suspension Period September 3, 2019 (Tue) (12:00 noon to 5:00 pm)
All Students to check their course selection status online September 3, 2019 (Tue) (5:00 pm)-September 16, 2019 (Mon) (4:00 pm)
Students will not be allowed to make any changes to their course selection. After September 16, 2019 (Mon) (4:00 pm)
Reading/Field Trip ** October 14, 2019 (Mon)-October 19, 2019 (Sat)
Last Day of Teaching** November 30, 2019 (Sat)
Revision Period ** December 2, 2019 (Mon)-December 6, 2019 (Fri)
Assessment Period ** December 7, 2019 (Sat)-December 23, 2019 (Mon)

*Applicable to non-clinical undergraduate and taught postgraduate curricula in general and subject to Faculties’ confirmation of the first and last days of teaching, reading/field trip weeks (if any), revision periods, and assessment periods for individual curricula as approved by the respective Boards of Faculties.

**For undergraduate students only. Faculties concerned will determine the reading/field trip weeks (if any), last days of teaching, revision periods, and assessment periods for individual taught postgraduate curricula.

First Day of Teaching January 20, 2020 (Mon)
# Online course selection for All Students January 20, 2020 (Mon) (10:00 am)-February 21, 2020 (Fri) (4:00 pm)
(a) year 1 students starting from 10:00 on January 20, 2020 (for semester 2 and summer semester);
(b) year 2 students starting from 12:00 on January 20, 2020 (for semester 2 and summer semester);
(c) year 3 students starting from 14:00 on January 20, 2020 (for semester 2 and summer semester); and
(d) year 4 (or above) students starting from 16:00 on January 20, 2020 (for semester 2 and summer semester).
Suspension Period January 21, 2020 (Tue) (12:00 noon to 5:00 pm)
All students to check their course selection status online January 21, 2020 (Tue) (5:00 pm)-February 21, 2020 (Fri) (4:00pm)
Deadline for choosing pass/fail grading and late drop of courses April 30, 2020 (Thur)
Last Day of Teaching** May 16, 2020 (Sat)
Assessment Period ** May 18, 2020 (Mon)-June 6, 2020 (Sat)

# Final year students are not allowed to select courses in Summer Semester.

*Applicable to non-clinical undergraduate and taught postgraduate curricula in general and subject to Faculties’ confirmation of the first and last days of teaching, reading/field trip weeks (if any), revision periods, and assessment periods for individual curricula as approved by the respective Boards of Faculties.

**For undergraduate students only. Faculties concerned will determine the reading/field trip weeks (if any), last days of teaching, revision periods, and assessment periods for individual taught postgraduate curricula.

# Online course selection for All Students (except Final Year Students) June 15, 2020 (Mon) (10:00 am) -June 22, 2020 (Mon) (4:00 pm)
Suspension Period June 16, 2020 (Tue) (12:00 noon to 5:00 pm)
All students to check their course selection status online June 16, 2020 (Tue) (5:00 pm) -June 22, 2020 (Mon) (4:00 pm)
Students will not be allowed to make any changes to their course selection June 22, 2020 (Mon) (4:00 pm)
Teaching and Assessment Period June 29, 2020 (Mon)-August 22, 2020 (Sat)

# Final year students are not allowed to select courses in Summer Semester.

*Applicable to non-clinical undergraduate and taught postgraduate curricula in general and subject to Faculties’ confirmation of the first and last days of teaching, reading/field trip weeks (if any), revision periods, and assessment periods for individual curricula as approved by the respective Boards of Faculties.

**For undergraduate students only. Faculties concerned will determine the reading/field trip weeks (if any), last days of teaching, revision periods, and assessment periods for individual taught postgraduate curricula.